Vacation Photography

Hello to all of my readers out there. I am sorry I haven’t written lately but I was out on vacation with my family in Southern California. This was my first time in Los Angeles and second time in Cali total.

Anyway, there is something that I wanted to discuss that’s been on my mind and that is vacation photography. This term to me means capturing either wildlife or beautiful scenery or anything of that sort while on a vacation. It really bugs me when people take a lot of pictures and then they never do anything with those pictures besides let them take up space on their hard-drive.

That is why I have adopted a different type of shooting strategy when I am on vacation. I don’t want to take pictures just for the sake of taking pictures, I want to photograph. I want to really capture the feeling of a place and not just a bunch of candid shots. It is something that bothers me because then anyone could take a photo and call themselves a photographer but they are not. To be a photographer, you have to capture a moment and a place.

Some of the places we went to were pretty amazing though including Hearst Castle, home of famed billionaire William Randolph Hearst; a taping of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno; Santa Monica Pier and beach; Venice Beach, In & Out Burger, Griffith Observatory and the list goes on and on.

Here are some photographs of mine to help explain my concept of vacation photography.

14 thoughts on “Vacation Photography

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m beginner to weblog and definitely loved you’re blog site. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You really come with awesome well written articles. Thanks for revealing your web site.

  2. I just want to say I’m newbie to weblog and truly savored you’re page. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You definitely have excellent articles. With thanks for sharing your web site.

  3. Hiya, I am really glad I have found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is actually annoying. A good web site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  4. I must show thanks to you for bailing me out of this particular incident. Right after browsing through the world-wide-web and obtaining ideas which are not powerful, I believed my entire life was done. Being alive minus the approaches to the problems you’ve solved by way of your entire site is a critical case, as well as ones which may have in a wrong way affected my career if I had not noticed your web page. Your ability and kindness in controlling all the pieces was important. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. It’s possible to now look ahead to my future. Thanks so much for your impressive and result oriented guide. I won’t be reluctant to endorse the website to anyone who would like care about this area.

  5. This is such a very good idea. A friend of mine sent me your backlink. It’s such a very good way to engage readers offline and get physical mail which everyone loves. I may must do this after my blog is up and running a bit more.

Leave a comment