Cleveland Browns Training Camp

On Wednesday, I got the chance to photography another Cleveland professional sports team: the Cleveland Browns. This was another thing that I have been dreaming of for awhile. See, when I was younger I would go to training camp with my family out in Berea. Actually, I used to hate it because it was so hot and I am not a fan of heat. Over time, I have gotten used to it, but that’s getting away from the point. I have seen the photographers and reporters and video crews before at training camps, so getting to be one of those people was something extremely awesome for me.

Before I get to training camp though, I want to explain a little something about getting there. I was a little bit nervous about going there even though I had a parking pass because I had absolutely no idea where the media parking was. I knew it had to be in front of the building, but i had no idea where that was. Fortunately, I realized that if I went down this one street I might be able to make it there and I did! I was finally at training camp as a member of the media.

The first thing I did when I got there was go to the media room and drop my stuff off. I had my laptop and all of my camera gear with me so I could send my images back from right there. I knew I wanted to get them in as soon as I could and knowing they have free wifi made that possible. After I put my stuff down, I waited for the reporter so I could know who I needed to get pictures of. There are a lot of Browns players, so it can be confusing if you don’t know who you are looking for.

Unfortunately, he wasn’t there yet. I went outside to see if maybe he was there and wandered around the entire area of training camp and I still couldn’t find home. So, I decided to go back to the media room to see if he was there and low and behold there he was. So, we finally took off for the camp together so I could get the shots he wanted. Once I got settled, I had to quickly unsettle though because all the way at the far end of the camp was team majority owner (for right now) Randy Lerner talking to president Mike Holmgren.

Lerner has only been spotted once before at camp, so this is kind of a big deal. I had to be on the move at all times to try and get a shot of him because he was moving quickly towards the door. Luckily, I was able to get a shot of him once I put my mono-pod leg down for a second. Then, I had to keep moving and running to be able to get a better shot of them.

After I got a shot of him, I moved around to the other side where all of the action was going on. If I had photographed from the other angle, then I wouldn’t have been able to get as clean a shot just because all the other players would be making a sort of “wall”. So, with that in mind I went to work taking pictures from all sorts of angles and all over the place. I still saw my parents and my sister there because they had just randomly decided to come to this practice too.

Then, it was all a matter of getting the best shots that I could get with the players availability. I tried to cover my butt as best as I could so I could for sure get the pictures that the reporter wanted. That happened to be Joe Haden that day. However, I also got a really nice shot of tight end Alex Smith that I liked a lot because he was outstretched and able to see all of him.

This is also my last post during my internship because this is my last day. I want to say thank you for all of you who followed me on my adventure. I will still be blogging about my experiences at school because I have a job there already lined up but not as an intern anymore!

P.S. I just photographed the new Browns owner, Jimmy Haslam so we will see what happens there!

16 thoughts on “Cleveland Browns Training Camp

  1. I just could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the standard information an individual supply for your guests? Is gonna be back continuously to inspect new posts

  2. Were required to give you that almost no remark in order to thanks a lot yet again of these spectacular techniques you might have provided in this posting. It’s so particularly generous with folks such as you to generate unreservedly what the majority of us might have marketed for an book to earn some dough in their own business, primarily since you may have tried it in the event you wanted. The tactics also acted to be good way to know that everyone’s similar desire just as my own, personal to figure out completely more regarding this condition. I’m sure there are thousands of more pleasant opportunities up front for many who go through your website post.

  3. I simply want to say I am just new to blogging and definitely liked you’re blog. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with tremendous posts. With thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

  4. Checked out the website. Some interesting offerings, wonderful sheath designs, nevertheless the knives really are a bit overpriced. I understand their American Made and “custom”, but are they any better than offering from Becker, ESEE, or many others?

  5. I need to say I can not wait until this program launches, I am tired of the non valued products that happen to be plaguing the internet lately. Plus I want your bonus in the case study for this program!

Leave a Reply

