A little bit of history

Today, I had two assignments. Both of them pretty quick, but also fun.

My first assignment had me out to the James A. Garfield National Historic Site. I had been there before for an immigration ceremony, but this was a little different. I was taking a portrait of an employee who had recently given a talk about the importance of the front porch.

Now, I am not a history buff really. I enjoy it a little bit and I have gone on some tours of historic sites with my parents when I was little, but that is as far as my knowledge about history goes.

So, after the photo shoot was done, I had a little bit of time to kill, so I asked the employee if he wouldn’t mind giving me a short tour of the house. I had never been in it before, so I figured why not?

It was interesting for me to look at, but at the same time not the most exciting historic site I have seen. My biggest question about all of these historic sites is I want to know exactly how much is real and how much has been restored. I think that the non-restored sites are a lot cooler than the ones that were restored. They just seem more like the real thing.

My other assignment was at the Lake Metroparks Penitentiary Glen Reservation where I took some shots of hummingbirds. The only eventful thing there was I got locked outside and had to call inside to have them let me in. Oh well, thank goodness for cell phones!

82 thoughts on “A little bit of history

  1. I found your weblog website on google and examine a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to keep up the superb operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking ahead to studying extra from you later on!…

  2. I in addition to my guys ended up reviewing the good tips from the website then the sudden got an awful feeling I had not expressed respect to the site owner for those techniques. Those men were totally happy to see all of them and have in effect in truth been having fun with those things. Thanks for getting simply kind and then for selecting this form of ideal subject areas millions of individuals are really eager to learn about. Our sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

  3. obviously like your website but you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell the reality however I’ll surely come again again.

  4. You’re really a just right webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a fantastic activity in this matter!

  5. Someone necessarily lend a hand to make severely articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I amazed with the research you made to create this actual publish incredible. Great job!

  6. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you simply could do with some p.c. to pressure the message house a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  7. You are really a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a wonderful process in this subject!

  8. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give something again and help others like you helped me.

  9. You’re actually a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have performed a great activity on this matter!

  10. Pretty section of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I fulfillment you access constantly fast.

  11. You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I find this topic to be actually one thing which I believe I might never understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me. I am taking a look ahead in your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  12. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am happy to show that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I so much undoubtedly will make sure to do not forget this website and provides it a glance regularly.

  13. Wonderful paintings! That is the kind of information that should be shared around the internet. Shame on Google for now not positioning this post higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website . Thank you =)

  14. Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  15. Magnificent issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What would you suggest in regards to your publish that you simply made some days in the past? Any sure?

  16. I like the valuable info you provide for your articles. I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here regularly. I’m rather sure I’ll be told a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

